District Steering Committee

A key element in the District Improvement Programme (DIP) intervention is the District Steering Committee (DSC). Each of the 8 districts has a DSC. The DSCs are a multi-stakeholder structures similar to the Quality Learning and Teaching Campaign structures.

The DSC model has additional features such as oversight on a funded and active improvement programme with dedicated technical and coordination support. They are made up of about twenty members, who represent a range of communities and interests. Each of the DSCs has representatives from local business, teachers’ unions, school governing body associations, local government and the district education office, religious orders, and youth structures, as well as traditional leaders.

In line with the concepts of active citizenry and strong local leadership holding public service accountable promoted by the National Development Plan (NDP) each DSC is to monitor the implementation of DIP and bring local communities and relevant structures into education and education decisions. At the same they are to help the district education office solve community-based challenges that it may be facing.

DSC Chairpersons

  • Mr John Dombo – Waterberg
  • Judge Joseph Raulinga – Vhembe
  • Mr Mbusi Dlamini – Pinetown
  • Mr Mogotsi Gustaph Mompei – Bojanala
  • King Thandisizwe Diko  - Mt Frere
  • Mr Samuel Zungu – uThungulu
  • Nkosi Vikele Ndabeni – Libode
  • Dr Richard Ngomane - Bohlabela
  • Mr Frank Lebotsa – Sekhukhune
  • Hosi Mlungisi Ntswanisi – Mopani
  • Mr Sydney Badise – DR RSM

© 2019 National Education Collaboration Trust