Programme overview

The NECT was formed in July 2013 as a response to the call by the National Development Plan (NDP) for increased collaboration among stakeholders to improve educational outcomes. The work of the NECT is informed by the six themes presented in the Education Collaboration Framework (ECF) which guide its programme design and interventions.

The six themes are:

  • Professionalising of the teaching service;
  • Supporting courageous leadership;
  • Improving government capacity to deliver;
  • Improving the resourcing of education;
  • Involving parents and communities in education; and
  • Enhancing support for learners and promoting their wellbeing.

The six themes are organised into five programmatic areas; the District Intervention Programme (DIP), Systematic Interventions, Innovation, Local Projects and Education DialogueSA. All the themes of the NECT find expression in each of the five programmes.

Click here to download the full ECF document.

© National Education Collaboration Trust